Cassie in Europe

Ahorita soy burgosa

Posted in Uncategorized by cassandromeda on 15 July 2009

Expect more posts with few words, many pictures. I find that the hot days and the laziness that comes after eating lunch at 2pm (oh, so much laziness) makes it oh so difficult to do anything productive. And when I’m not being lazy, good god are we kept busy here!

Pictures of Burgos! And then…pictures of San Sebastian, Salamanca, Santander, and Valladolid. No. The photos will never end. I’ve already taken 1300 this trip. You’re all lucky I’m not inundating you with every single one of them.

Note that I will be doing the photos from the Catedral de Burgos separately, just because there are that many, and because the cathedral is that beautiful.

The first thing you should know about my stay in Burgos is that I’m about 10 minutes walking from this place. We can hear the bells chime all-the-time. It’s both awesome and sometimes very loud.

The second thing you should know is that when we arrived to Burgos, we arrived on the first day of festival week. That would be a week of festivals that celebrate the city of Burgos. There were fireworks every night (celebrating our arrival, no doubt) and outdoor concerts and tapas “huts” set up all around the city, and gosh was the city alive (except for during Siesta, and on Sundays. Then it is very dead.) A processional put up this flower arrangement next to the cathedral…and yes. That is a MASSIVE amount of flowers.


Also in Burgos is this building which, if my Spanish comprehension skills do not fail me, was the building where Francisco Franco was essentially “crowned dictator”. No seriously. That’s the place. HISTORY. IT IS INESCAPABLE IN EUROPE.

They also have stuff built in the 15th century just…you know. Lying around. Stuff like this.

This picture is where the gate of the city is. See those stone pillars? They’re on a bridge. Burgos used to have a natural boundary. Obviously the city is much much larger now than when it was founded in the 9th century. (yes. Cities are that old. It still kills me.)

I’ve made friends here!

Burgos has really awesome architecture if you keep an eye out for it!

And the clouds. Oh gosh. I thought I hated the rain that happened here occasionally, but if it doesn’t produce the most AMAZING clouds the next day, I don’t know what amazing clouds are. JUST LOOK.

(coming up next… la Catedral de Burgos!)

Leave a comment